Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon Wireless


It finally happened!

screenshot-20091026-131123-382

Last night, at 10PM eastern time, Verizon Wireless released the 5.0 Software Update for the Blackberry Storm!

Here goes my best shot at giving you all the info you will need when updating to the 5.0 Software.

 

Lets start with some of the new features

screenshot-20091026-131002-445

screenshot-20091026-131346-445

* Significant improvements in rotation detection and screen painting have been introduced in this software.

* Device displayed a white bar at the bottom of the screen after a rotation event.

* When setting a custom SMS tone for a single contact, this tone may playback unexpectedly for SMS’ received from other contacts.

* When swiping down the virtual keyboard in an MMS message the send and save draft icons did not appear as expected.

* When viewing an SMS there was no simple way to call the current user. Now the user can select the number from the Callback Number field or from the message body and call that number from the pop up menu.

* The delete prior function has the unwanted side-effect of triggering the compose email screen.

* The user cannot configure their profile settings to increase the number of alerts when being notified of an event such as incoming SMS or email.

* Previous software versions did not allow the user to increase the count of notifications (i.e. Beep 5 times when when I get an email and beep 3 times when I get an sms). In this software, this is now allowed with counts from 1-10.

* When trying to set a home screen background of a certain resolution (more specifically a resolution matching either the width or the height of the native resolution of the LCD) it may have appeared as a black screen.

* When trying to edit/create a folder, the virtual keyboard did not render to allow the user to enter the names of said folders.

* Intermittently, when streaming a video while doing a handover to 2G on a 3G network the video would stop playing.

* If you paused a video recording and then resumed, the icon state may not have reflected the current recording state.

* After recoding a video of a certain size (7M) the saved video may be corrupted and unplayable.

* During manual network selection, the radio buttons associated with the networks did not render as expected.

* When moving out of coverage your device display for no coverage may have been inconsistent.

* During voice calls, your device may have reset on a rare occasion.

* After viewing and accepting the End User Licensing Agreement of the App World application the application doesn’t startup (fixes introduced in the latest version of App World).

* On some rare occasions, the device may reset on its own during a voice call or while idle.

* During an MTP side load of 16GB of music, the device would leak memory and stop the transfer at ~75%.

* During device full boot-up, the progress bar skips from 0% complete to ~66% complete instead of showing a gradual progression (Note: from 66% to 100% it does show a gradual progression).

There are many more features included in the new update that weren’t even able to fit on this list! For more info on what the OS 5.0.0.238 contains, check out my similar post on an older version of the 5.0 software.


Now let’s move on to the Cons

Here are some problems I’ve come across already since using the new software.

– My Blackberry Headphones Lost Compatibility With the My Storm?

When I plug my blackberry headphones into the headphone jack, the storm doesnt seem to recognize that they are inserted and continues to play music through the handset. Yet when I use any other regular headphones, it plays sound through the head-jack just fine.  Is there anyone else having this problem? Or is just me…?

– When using a Plazmic Built Theme, (Or anything other than the carrier theme), I have noticed that the screen background doesn’t completely fit to width of the icons when in landscape mode. This causes the icons to slur in the background of the screen… (see pictures below)

Possibly an issue of the landscape background refresh rate?


– This one isn’t exactly a software problem, but as soon as you start using the 5.0 Software, you should notice that your email account icon is missing.

Dont freak out, its just been marked as a hidden file. To fix this, open the main menu and select, “Show All”. Locate the hidden icon, open the menu again and uncheck the “Hidden” status to make it visible. I don’t know about you guys, but I like having my email account icon on my home-screen.

– Youtube videos are now only viewable in the, “Streaming”, method. Meaning you can’t drag the cursor to adjust the position of video playback.

Quickpull can no longer be used to reset your device.

*Important*

If you have noticed similar issues to the ones that I described, or any other issues that I haven’t found yet, please leave a comment saying so.

The faster we narrow down and confirm the 5.0 OS faults… The faster RIM will be willing to roll out a quick OS fix.


Now onto the installation process!

There are MANY ways that you can update your software. You can visit your carrier’s website, the blackberry.com website, do an OTA update, or use the desktop manager.

I used the desktop manager because I believe that it is the most simple route to getting Official OS Updates, thus that is the method I will provide a walk-through for.

Obviously, before you begin your installation, you must make a back-up of your current device data.

-Plug your blackberry into your computer. Open the desktop manager, select, “Backup and restore”.

-Next, select “Backup” and choose the location you wish to save the backup file. Now, you just have to wait until it finishes uploading your device’s files.

Once you have made a back up file, open the Application Loader under the Main Menu.

Now select, “Update Software”.

If your blackberry is plugged into your computer correctly, it should run a quick check of your application versions.

When this is done, you should see a list of official OS versions. Select the newest version, 5.0.0.328, and hit next.

Your computer will now check your device software. When it’s done, you should see, “blackberry 5.0.0 core applications”, listed under the update summery.

From here on… Its pretty simple. Just select next, finish, ect. until it begins the installation.

DO NOT UNPLUG YOUR DEVICE FROM THE COMPUTER UNTIL IT’S FINISHED INSTALLING ALL OF THE SOFTWARE AND PROMPTS YOU TO DO SO.

If you do, you run a very high chance of losing a lot of device info or worse.

The entire installation process took about one hour for me.

I don’t know if this varies depending on connection speed or how many applications you have installed on your blackberry though.

Once you finish, the device will restart, and you will see your first glimpse of the beautiful 5.0 software. The loading screen has been completely redone as you should now see. Sleek right?

As your blackberry finishes rebooting and the desktop software loads the last bit of info onto your device, you will feel excited and a little bit anxious.

(What if I hate it? Can I go back to a previous OS update if I need to? What if my system crashes?!)

This is totally normal.

Just prepare yourself. You will need some patience and some one on one Blackberry Storm time.

screenshot-20091026-132351-757

There are a ton of changes as I have already told you; but before you start exploring every inch of new material…

Just begin by resetting your icon arrangement to the one you had on your last OS Version. This will make it feel more homy and hopefully keep you from feeling the overload of the new interface.

If you are using a custom theme, you may want to revert to the Zen Theme that came preloaded with your device.

Next, open your mail folder and play round with the keyboard. Feel the responsiveness. Nice right?

Once you get the hang of things… you will never want to go back. Overall the new OS is faster, more efficient, and more stylish than any other version ever released for the Blackberry Storm.

Give yourself enough time to mess around with the new OS before depending on it for work or other important situations. It took me around 4-5 hours of moving around icons, changing the background, and trying the 5.0 Core Applications before I truly came to love it!

93 Responses to Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon Wireless

  1. Travis says:

    I noticed the same problem with the 3rd party themes and landscape mode, called Verizon about it they suggested a securty wipe…i doubt that is going to fix the problem i figure i’ll just wait for a fix or wait till theme developers get on the ball and create some compatible themes.

  2. justinboyd says:

    Yeah, I would hold off on the security wipe for now-
    Not sure what good that would do…

    Supposedly, a new Plazmic Theme Builder version will be released soon. If that happens, there is a good chance it will fix fix this issue and allow developers to continue creating 3rd party themes.

    Funny how things like this can slip through RIM’s OS Testing Stages.

  3. […] Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon … […]

  4. Aaron says:

    I love everything about the new version except that when i switch from portrait to landscape the screen dims and when i switch back it takes a min to brighten back up. I checked to make sure the auto dim was turned off. Anybody else have this happen?

    • justinboyd says:

      Yeah, I have noticed that too.
      But I don’t think that the OS 5.0 has brought this problem with it, because previous versions did the same thing.

      Maybe RIM wanted this to happen because it makes the screen easier on the eyes when reading long pages of info?…

      • the ju says:

        Yea I get this problem too. I heard it happened in previous versions but I only got this problem after I upgraded to this update.

  5. Aaron says:

    It never happened till i did the upgrade. So i do think it was the OS 5.0.

    • justinboyd says:

      Oh- Really?
      I have been having the backlight problem for quite a few OS releases now- I just didn’t find it annoying enough to write about.

  6. Katie says:

    Thank you so much for this article. I could not understand why my e-mail wasn’t showing up every time I did a battery pull. I tried deleting my email and setting it back up and after a battery pull it would disappear again. Stupid me, I didn’t even think it would be “hidden.” Glad this was an easy fix! Thanks again! Now if only MeterBerry would work again…

  7. Katie says:

    I noticed that the MMS msgs I hadn’t deleted or saved on my phone before the upgrade to 5.0 are missing. I checked all the SMS and MMS folders… any one have any idea?

  8. justinboyd says:

    When you upgrade to a new OS version, the Desktop Manager creates a backup file of your device memory. Then it wipes your Blackberry and restores the memory file after the upgrade.

    I don’t think that the Desktop Manager includes MMS Messages in the device backup file. Meaning that when it wiped your device memory, you lost them…

  9. afotos says:

    After upgrading my storm does not recognize when head phones are plugging in. Very frustrating!

    • justinboyd says:

      Oh- do you have that problem too?
      I was beginning to wonder if it was just me…

      (But why would only a few people have this problem instead of it affecting everyone that upgraded to the new OS?…)

  10. Donna says:

    my phone keeps dimming as well since the new software upgrade….it is very random and frustrating. It’s like I put a pair of sunglasses on when looking at the screen.

    • justinboyd says:

      Hmm… If it’s that noticeable, I must be experiencing something different- Because I can barely even notice the screen dimming.

      In that case, it probably does have something to do about the new OS 5.0 update.

    • carolyn says:

      The new software is awesome for the most part but ugh i’m having the same dimming problem too…sometimes my screen doesn’t get bright for over a minute no matter how many times i touch the screen (i never had the problem until i upgraded) also i’m getting a message almost every time i’m texting that says “input system error. system being rebooted” but it doesn’t shut anything down. does anyone else have this problem?

      • Travis says:

        I am also getting the same “input system error. system being rebooted.” then it erases like one word and makes me write that word over again. usually happens when i switch from letters then try to type in a symbol. no idea for a fix or anything its really not that big of a problem for me just kind of a small annoyance like the screen dimming and such.

  11. Rebecca says:

    When I did my upgrade, I lost my music option under media. I now only have video, pictures, ring tones and voice notes. Does anyone have any idea how I can get it back?

    • justinboyd says:

      Your music file can’t be deleted- so its probably just sitting around somewhere in one of your folders.

      The second possibility is that it is marked as a hidden file. To find it, just press the menu button when browsing through your various folders until you see the option to, “Show All”, under the sidebar menu.

      Then, uncheck the hidden status on your music file by pressing the menu button and selecting the, “Hidden”, check-mark.

      (The music file should be tinted grey if it’s hidden)

      Finally, just move your music file to the media folder.

  12. steve says:

    The new 5.0 (328) WILL support both Pandora and Quickpull. Pandora just has to be deleted and reinstalled…that’s apparantly it.

    quickpull has new instructions right here:

    http://faq.steelthorn.com/index.php?View=entry&EntryID=26

    These will walk you through the steps (just a delete and reinstall with permission changes) and it all works.

    Steve

  13. Don says:

    Love the upgrade! I’ve upgraded both my Storm and my wife’s. We both however have noticed that the display dims for no apparent reason at any given time. Also our clock alarms will not snooze easily. They used to snooze at the slightest touch of the screen. Now you have to make sure you hit the snooze and that will not work because it will just alarm again until you disable it. Remember to different Storms. Very frustrating…

  14. Ron says:

    Like the thought about updating to v5.0.+ but it has
    cost me a lot of my time the past few days… If
    any one can help that would really help me a several
    others out there…
    After the update to v5.0++ I tried to clear the log
    and hey… can’t fine the keyboard….)(….
    you know the old “/”/” or what ever it is….
    HELP !!!!!
    RM

    • MA says:

      It’s /”/”/

    • L Duncan says:

      MA, I’ve got the same problem where “Show Keyboard” is not an option when in menu mode. So we can’t enter anything.

    • L Duncan says:

      Ron/MA,

      Found a solution, goto “Options”/”Screen-Keyboard” change “portrait view keyboard” to “Full Keyboard”

      Then change Left Side Convenience Key to “Virtual Keyboard” Save.

      Goto Home and press the left convenience key this will bring up the keyboard. Go through the key sequence “/”/ and the event log will appear. You can then clear the log the way you did before.

      Hope this helps

  15. Kasna says:

    wow… This nice site…

  16. Jeremy says:

    Anyone have vLingo? Mine will not connect to the vlingo server anymore, just keeps trying over and over. And also any word on the dimming in landscape mode yet? I hate having to flip to portrait then back to get it bright again, which only lasts a few seconds.

  17. tyson says:

    it has been about three days since i upgraded to the new OS and i have found that the “rare” device resets are happening quite frequently. it is almost noon, and it has happened three times this morning already. it does not occur at any particular point or when using a particular function. it has happened with and without my using it. i wish they would elaborate on why it resets instead of just asking the storm users to grin and bear it.

    • Steve says:

      I am having the same issue just resets on its own so far it has only happen once during a phone call but otherwise the phone will be sitting and just resets.

  18. Jose says:

    I can’t disable the Auto Text Mode, even I put yes in the box and hit save. any suggestion??

  19. Donna says:

    So…not only does the phone dim often and randomly….now when I put my phone in “phone only”…I still receive auditory alerts for emails and text messages….with version 4.7….phone only meant you would only receive phone call alerts….
    anyone else having this issue?

  20. Joe Fowler says:

    Ever since I have mad the 5.0 upgrade my storm keeps freezing in the middle of txt messages and I have to take my battery out and restart my phone its very frustrating. I went to Verizon and they seemed to have no idea and offered to get me a new one but I don’t know that if I get a new one it wont just do the same thing mine is right now.

    • Sherri says:

      hey, I’ve been having this problem too, let me know if you figure out the problem, I was about to go to Verizon tomorrow and ask them what’s up

    • Cassidy says:

      I have been having the same problem. My storm has always worked very well (unless it was in direct sunlight for a prolonged period of time) for which I felt lucky. Now I’ve installed 5.0 and probably every third text I try to send this happens. Have you discovered a solution to the problem?

  21. M. Pratt says:

    A week and a half ago, I updated the new OS to my BB storm and though things began to move faster, I noticed alot of distortion in the screen and choppiness to the pictures. Also, when the screen went to stand-by mode it took forever to recover, sometimes it would take 2 mins. and then after have the day, the screen never came back. The phone was able to receive calls but I couldn’t see who was calling or scroll thru my contacts to make a call. My phone was still under warranty so they sent me another phone, but this one still has it issue now., being that sometimes if someone is calling and I try to answer it, the screen freezes for a brief moment and then drops the call. Does anyone know what it could be?

  22. Juli says:

    I noticed that the option to send a pic to FB directly from the picture in the media folder is no loner there. Is there a fix to that?

    • Justin Boyd says:

      If you have installed Facebook correctly and are logged onto your account, then you should be able to use this feature.

      First, hilight a picture from the, “All Pictures”, folder.

      Press the menu key, and then scroll through the menu until you find, “Send or Share”.

      Select this option, and you should see three different methods to share the image;

      -Send As Email
      -Send To Facebook
      -Send As MMS

      Choose, “Send To Facebook”.

      Does this help?
      Or is the, “Send To Facebook”, option still missing?

  23. Diego says:

    Hello, I am a BES user and now I can not use the MARK PREVIOUS OPEN feature nor the DELETE PREVIOUS feature. Sometimes it works but most of the time it does not. The emails stay unread and in my inbox. This happened after the upgrade. Any ideas?

    thanks

  24. Joe says:

    I updated last night, and instantly noticed that on menus, you can now flick your finger to scroll through it, and it will roll to a stop. Definately feels smoother. I’m excited about my Storm all over again.

  25. Troy says:

    Since installing V 5 my e-mail capabilities have been limited, for instance if I receive an e-mail with an html link going to a private company it no longers works. i can copy and past to the browser, but that just takes moe time. I never had aproblem with this before. help

  26. Marie says:

    After I upgraded my computer froze. I finally got it back working but when I plugged the BB in to sync it froze the computer and i have not been able to get the computer working again. tried unplugging from power source several times. Now not getting email from work on bb. HELP! I need the computer.

  27. Varun says:

    I upgraded 9530 from v4.7 to v5.0 & all worked well for a few hours. But after that I cant make or receive calls. As soon as I press the dial button for calling the phone disconnects in half a second. The msngers and smses are working okay though. The phone calls started working again after I reupdated the software again. Later after a few hours the calls stopped again. Please suggest what to do?

  28. OB Pat says:

    Now that I’ve upgraded to 5.0.0.328 my Blackberry Desktop Manager stops working. This happened on my desktop and laptop. I’ve removed and reinstall Desktop Manager several differnt ways with no relief. The tech support at Verizon is friendly but no help yet. I’m thinking about using my wife’s upgrade and getting a Storm 2. She’ll kill me. Oh well it wouldn’t be the first time.

  29. Chris says:

    Ugh, I am so upset, my HaloBerry was my favorite and it stopped working because of this update, my iBerry doesn’t work either (this is only when turned to the side as shown in the pictures above) but I still remain true to my beloved iBerry ❤ please fix this soon, or at least get a new version of the plazmic theme maker for working themes again, when you get either one please tell me! Post links of confirmations or something!

  30. Bob H says:

    I am on the BB Storm and upgraded to 5.0.0.328 OS and now can no longer use the Facebook application. Icon is gone. Tried reinstalling Facebook 1.7.0.18 from the ‘application center’ and rebooting but still nothing. I get a message during the re-install that the application exists and I click on ‘yes’ to overwrite, once complete I get the message the install was successful. Still nothing and its not hidden. Looked under other folders but … nothing. Anyone else have this issue? Everything else seems fine.

  31. lost+confused says:

    can someone tell me where this magical “backup + Restore” button is? i cant find it anywhere, and is the desktop manager mentioned in this walkthrough the “VZAccess Manager”?

    • Justin Boyd says:

      No, I am not referring to the VZAccess Manager.

      The backup function is found by opening the Blackberry Desktop Manager, and then looking for the icon that says, “Backup and Restore”.

      If you don’t see that icon,then you should consider downloading the latest version of the BDM.

      If you have any more problems at all with the backup process, please visit our new post about How To Make A Backup File.

  32. johnson yadigar says:

    hey i had downloaded the new update and now my blackberry storm the light will go dim and it will take for ever for it to go back to normal can you please email me and let me know how i can fix this PLEASE!!!
    janzzyy@yahoo.com

    • Randall says:

      Mine is doing this too. It pretty much stays dim and every now and then it will get bright for a while then go dim again.

    • Barry says:

      I too am having the same problem, from the number of posts here and on other sites it seems to be a very common problem. I would like it fixed soon as I am starting to wish I had stayed with the old version or maybe just get mad enough to get a different system.

  33. Mike says:

    VZ Access Manager. this may be old news but why can I no longer tether my storm after upgrading to OS 5?

    I can still tether to my wifes storm that has not been upgraded.

  34. Randall says:

    I am having the same problems with my themes. I have the perfect storm theme, and the today plus slide theme and a few others that all have the same issue in the picture above when the phone is in portrait mode. I also tried deleting some of these themes and re-installing them and it would look fine for a couple minutes then revert back to the distorted landscape mode.

    I tried this with quick pull and it got me nowhere. The crackberry app store app would not work either but once I completely removed it and reinstalled it, it finally worked.

  35. Ted says:

    I love the new version software 5.0 for my BB Storm 9530. Most everything works well and faster, expecially the typing etc. However, I have had to do more frequent battery pulls as the software seams unstable at times and starts to go through its own routine. It has even made phone calls (Unsolicited and unwanted) during it’s freaking out period. It will cycle through any number of applications and the only way I can get it to stop is a battery pull. This happens intermittenly

    • Justin Boyd says:

      Hmm… That doesn’t sound good, have you considered the possibility that your blackberry may have a form of spyware on it?…

      Here’s what I would suggest you do.
      Visit this link and download the Kisses Application.

      Kisses Application

      It’s main function is to identify processes that run in the background of your device. After installing the app, start it up and select, “Next”, and then, Processes”.

      If you see any programs in the list that you aren’t familiar with, you should probably go and have your blackberry checked for spyware/viruses.

      Oh- and if you do find anything suspicious, be sure and leave a comment on the kisses application page telling us EXACTLY what it’s name is. That way well know what to be wary of.

      Best of Luck-
      Justin

  36. waleed says:

    nice article
    i mark it.

  37. Brandon says:

    Just did BB Storm 5.0 update. If it were stable, it would be great. I’ve gone through two phones now, both with same issue. Locks up randomly. Sometimes it will go two or three days without a lockup, others will lockup 3 to 4 times a day. I get the white application error screen and i usually pull the battery. Problem is that sometimes the unit takes 1/2 hour to reboot and sometimes it never reboots at all. Kind of odd since i don’t have any third party apps at all. Wish BB would get this right, i’m certainly losing patience with them

  38. […] The faster RIM will be willing to roll out a quick OS fix. Now onto the installation process! There a MANY ways that you can update your software. You can visit your carrier’s website, the blackberry.com website, do an OTA update, ….. I love the new version software 5.0 for my BB Storm 9530. Most everything works well and faster, expecially the typing etc. However, I have had to do more frequent battery pulls as the software seams unstable at times and starts to go …Read more… […]

  39. Monkey_Dude says:

    After I updated to the new version from 4.7 I have similar problems with upabovementioned (dim light and 3rd party theme not working anymore) another problem that I find is with the Desktop Manager – Media Manager where I couldn’t sync any musics like I used to with the 4.7 version. The Storm stuck and my computer ended up halting that caused the Music unable to be uploaded to my phone. Its been like that since the firmware update. Sometimes my phone showed a pop-out that said the phone needs to be plugging in as the usb mode might not have enough power to support the phone during the syncing process then the syncing would stop and my computer crashed. Does anyone has the same problem with I had at the moment? It is so frustrating gosh darn it RIM how can I plugged the blackberry using the AC adapter when there is just one connection through the usb port in the phone!!!

  40. BlackBuried says:

    Auto-dimming, switching from speaker to handset mode randomly during calls, not recognizing ear plugs, alarm clock malfunctions, rebooting and freezing, incompatibility with third party software/apps, and the thing now drops even more calls than its previously unprecedented rate.

    Got any firmware patches yet for us, Mr. Boyd? This is ridiculous.

    • Justin Boyd says:

      I agree with you here-
      RIM shouldn’t release an OS version until they have thoroughly tested it a thousand times over to be sure it is “Bug Free”.

      As to the firmware patch-
      No… I do not.
      Sadly, I am only a reporter of blackberry news, not an expert firmware patcher.

      This blog wouldn’t exist if I was that skilled in the art of programming because my spare time would be wasted trying to fix all of RIM’s updates.

  41. Jenny says:

    Once I upgraded to the new OS, links within emails broke. You see the full web address, but it does not appear as link on the BlackBerry; it does in the actual email through Outlook.

  42. Monkey_Dude says:

    *update

    Blackberry website finally released a new version from B030 to B049 that works well!! I’m so happy that the Media Manager works and no glitches such as “USB not carrying enough power supply”

  43. Wentunjulge says:

    Unadulterated words, some truthful words man. Totally made my day!!

  44. Thanks for the info, I will try cons

  45. Michele says:

    I updated my storm and now my MMS messages are gone. Even new ones that I have gotten since the upgrade disappear once I have opened them. Can anyone help me figure out where I can find them or where I need to go to set it so they don’t disappear once they’re opened? Thanks

  46. tsav says:

    i updated to 5.0 and now when i sync the desktop manager says that there is a 5.0 core application upgrade available. i go ahead and try to upgrade and each time the system stops and tells me that my blackberry does not have enough room on it to do the upgrade. i really do not have a lot of stuff on my device; some pictures and videos – plus i have a memory card. any thoughts? thanks.

    • Justin Boyd says:

      Sorry to tell you this, but your memory card can only store pictures, music, and video files…

      The OS can’t be installed into your memory card.

      Here’s my suggestion.
      Take every single video, picture, and song, and move them FROM your Onboard Blackberry Memory, over to your memory card. This should free up a lot of room for the OS to be installed.

      Always save your media on your memory card only.
      This will actually keep your blackberry storm running faster too.

      See Post Here-
      https://berrystorm.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/how-to-easily-speed-up-your-lagging-blackberry-storm/

      After moving your files over to your memory card, try the Core Components installation again.

      If you receive the same message, then be sure to tell me.

  47. tsav says:

    Thanks for the advice. I confirmed that all of my music, photos and video are stored on the media card. I don’t understand why the deskstop manager is telling me that there is a 5.0 core application upgrade available each time I sync and I already upgraded to 5.0.

    • Justin Boyd says:

      I had a very similar issue after upgrading to the OS 5.0

      Every time I plugged in my blackberry, the desktop manager would ask me if I wished to update the 5.0 core components. I would select, “NO”, because I thought the core components were already installed along with the OS 5.0

      But after a while, I got so annoyed that I finally just accepted to install them.

      I guess the difference between my situation and yours though, is that the blackberry desktop manager installed the core components successfully…
      haha-

      The next logical thing to do is to see if there is a problem with the actual desktop manager.

      Please try to install an app, or a theme, or something simple like that.

      If you don’t know of any free themes, you could always try the one I made.

      Zelda Minish Cap Theme
      https://berrystorm.wordpress.com/2009/07/08/zelda-minish-cap-theme/

      Since it isnt fully compatible with the OS 5.0 yet, you will probably want to delete it after you make sure the desktop manager is working properly though.

  48. Ted Blass says:

    Unfortunately, I have found that the IntelliGolf software doesn’t sync anymore with my Storm once I upgraded to version 5.0. IntelliGolf worked great before I installed version 5.0, so there must be a bug (or change) in version 5.0 that is causing this problem. Is anyone else having this issue after upgrading to version 5.0?

  49. samie says:

    I have many of the same issues. The youtube streaming thing and such is a pain. I love the speed I now have I was about sick of the 2 before the upgrade. The thing I hate the most about the v5 is the QuickPull non-compatibility and the old Media shortcut button is gone (brings to music video voice notes and pictures in one button). All my “media” buttons were found in about 3 seperate folders. V5 is still the best thing to happen to bbS2.

  50. H. Pratt says:

    I just updated to the 5.0 on my BB Storm and now Facebook in not installed. Everytime I try to install it again it shuts down the phone. I also tried to upgrade my VZ Navigator and the same thing keeps happening. Any ideas on how to fix this?

  51. Herman says:

    All yall should’ve gotten a blackberry storm 2 phone, ha ha ha.

  52. Robyne says:

    After my upgrade, I found that my BlackBerry Storm rebooted randomly at least 5 times a day without any prompt.
    If I use msn, gtalk, blackberry messenger or make/receive phone calls, I’m unable to do so for longer than 10mins before my phone reboots again. This is annoying when you’re on an important phone call, espicially.

    Version 4.7 allowed for me to search my emails with a tap of the screen (I’d tap the screen on a person’s name and it would search for all emails by this particular person). This feature seems to have been removed. I would like for this feature to be returned.

    • Justin Boyd says:

      I have noticed the same happening to me recently. Whenever I use the phone for an extended period of time, my blackberry will reset. The same goes for video recording and having the camera application open…..

      As for the email search thing, It seems to work fine for me. Just hold down your finger for a while on the email you want to search, and it should pull up a list of all emails from the sender of the email you were selecting.

  53. Liya says:

    Hi,
    I just upgraded my blackberry software to the 5.0 version. However, when I downloaded the facebook application, there was no ‘RUN’ option provided. I’ve deleted and re-booted my phone several times but it still does not seem to run!!

  54. jessica says:

    hi.please i downloaded the blackberry app world on my 9530 and it showed that the download was successful but i can not see the icon on my phone.please how do i find it if it is hidden. thanks.i will really need help.

  55. claire says:

    form a got the new update my message n email sound wont play tried every thing n nuffin seem tae work can any1 help plz

  56. Download e-music…

    […]Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon Wireless « Berry Storm[…]…

  57. Kumarakom Kerala…

    […]Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon Wireless « Berry Storm[…]…

  58. disneyland says:

    disneyland…

    […]Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon Wireless « Berry Storm[…]…

  59. Ubiquinol says:

    Ubiquinol…

    […]Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon Wireless « Berry Storm[…]…

  60. BeachTech says:

    BeachTech…

    […]Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For Verizon Wireless « Berry Storm[…]…

  61. […] Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 For … – Oct 26, 2009  · … the 5.0 Software Update for the Blackberry … “blackberry 5.0.0 core applications … Official Blackberry Storm 9530 OS Version 5.0.0.328 … […]

Leave a Reply

